The G.J. Jackson Fellowship is awarded annually in memory of the late Geoffrey Jackson. Mr. Jackson was for many years a leader in the Canadian structural steel fabrication industry and was a founding member of the Steel Structures Education Foundation (SSEF) now oversees by CISC Education & Research Council. This prestigious award is currently valued at $25,000 over a one-year period and is presented annually to an engineering student who, in the following academic year, will be registered in the first to fourth year of full-time graduate studies in structural engineering, with major emphasis on the study of steel structures. The award, presented at the CISC Annual Steel Conference, is commemorated with the G.J. Jackson Memorial Certificate.

Jackson Recipients, Posters and Rules by Year
List of Recipients from 1988 to date (PDF)
Mr. Pedram Mortazavi, M.A.Sc, P.Eng.Ph.D. Candidate | Departement of Civil Engineering
President | Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) Chapter
University of Toronto

Pedram is a Ph.D. candidate in structural engineering under the supervision of Professors Constantin Christopoulos and Oh-Sung Kwon, at the University of Toronto.

Pedram is this year’s recipient of the prestigious G.J. Jackson Fellowship. His academic, background and extensive expertise in steel industry distinguished him from the many outstanding submissions received.

Pedram’s research focuses on experimental validation and performance assessment of Cast Steel Replaceable Link Elements in Steel Eccentric Braced Frame (EBF) structures. His project aims at the development of off-the-shelf Cast Replaceable Link Beams that when used will overcome the challenges associated with design and construction of EBFs, through replaceability and highly increased ductility.

Upon completion, the research will provide a more resilient design of EBFs and enhance their performance attributes under extreme loads. The structural advantages of these systems will be of interest to the structural engineering community and will benefit the Canadian infrastructure.

2018-2019 G. J. Jackson Fellowship

Download 2018-2019 poster
Download 2018-2019 rules