Advantage Steel ... Building an Iconic Future

Advantage Steel …
Building an Iconic Future

The 2011 Steel Design Awards of Excellence in Alberta showcased 45 project submissions with award winners in five categories.

Architectural Award
Steel structures in which architectural considerations predominantly influence the design, particularly those with exposed steelwork. (All building types and bridges.)

Engineering Award
Steel structures in which engineering considerations and the efficient use of steel in unique applications are the predominant factor. (All building types and bridges.)

Industrial Award
Structures, process plants, or other steelwork in which industrial considerations predominantly influence the design.

Sustainability Award
Steel structure in which steel has been used or re-used as part of a sustainable development project that aims to improve environmental impact of the structure by using innovative practices, standards and technologies. 

Steel Edge Award
An open category demonstrating excellence in the application of steel design, fabrication, detailing or finishing. These projects or project components demonstrate tremendous ingenuity in addressing unique design, resource or application challenges.

Please click here to link to our YouTube videos of the 2011 Award Recipients.

Click on the following for more information.
March 26 Media Release announcing the Award Recipients.
Winner's Spokespersons List
Awards Program

We would like to extend a special thank you to the 2011 Judging Panel for all their hard work and congratulate them on a job well done.

    Robert D. Bennett, Architect, AAA,
    Registrar, Alberta Association of Architects
    Senior principal of Bennett Architect Inc.
    Loraine Fowlow, B.Sc. (Civil Eng.), M.E. Des (Arch), MRAIC, SAH
    Associate Professor Architecture Program
    University of Calgary
    Robert G. Driver, Ph.D., P.Eng.
    Professor and Associate Chair of the Department of Civil and
    Environmental Engineering
    University of Alberta
    Ben Louie, AAA, OAA, AUA
    University Architect
    University of Alberta

    Curtis N. Sager, P.Eng.
    Department Manager of the Civil Structural Architectural Department
    Fluor Canada Ltd.

Many thanks to the following sponsors who have supported this event.


Host Sponsors

    Click on the logo to link to the Sponsor web sites.



    380 W - $7500 (11)






    350 AT - $5000 




    350 W - $3000  (10)

    AceCad Software, Inc.
    Akhurst Machinery Ltd./Peddinghaus Corporation
    All Fabrication Machinery Ltd. and Voortman
    Atlas Tube Canada ULC
    Devoe Coatings/International Paints

    Fisher & Ludlow
    Edmonton Ironworkers’ Union Local 720
    Katz Group Canada Ltd.
    Triangle Steel (1999) Ltd. 


     300 W - $1500  (25)

    CWB Group—Industry Services
    CadMax Steel Detailing
    Capital Steel Inc.
    Cloverdale Paint Inc.
    Daam Galvanizing Inc.
    Essar Steel Algoma Inc.
    Frank’s Sandblasting & Painting
    Harsco Industrial IKG

    Iresco Ltd.
    Iron Workers Shopmen’s Local Union 805
    JV Driver Fabricators Inc.
    Leder Steel Ltd.
    Lincoln Electric Company of Canada
    M-TEC Drafting Services Inc.
    Norfab Manufacturing (1993) Inc.
    Park Derochie Coatings Ltd.

    Precision Steel & Manufacturing Ltd.
    Rapicon Inc.
    Rapid Steel Fabrication Co. Inc.
    Read Jones Christoffersen Ltd.
    Reliable Tube Edmonton Ltd.
    Stantec Consulting Ltd.
    STM Erectors Inc.
    Tracer West International Freight Services Inc.
    TSE Steel Ltd.

     Need more information?  Click on the following links:

    To view the 2009 CISC Award Winners, Judges and Sponsors, click here.